International TYPO3 Awards presented in nine categories: is the TYPO3 “Website of the Year”

Categories: Press Created by Olivier Dobberkau
As part of this year's TYPO3 Conference Europe T3CON16 in Munich, the TYPO3 Association presented this year's International TYPO3 Awards. The prizes recognize the most creative and user-friendly web projects created using the open source content management system TYPO3. Among the winners are the Stasi-Mediathek, which documents the work of the GDR’s former secret police in videos, pictures, audio material and texts, the Donations page of the DRK (German Red Cross), and the Internet portal of 1. FC Köln. The prize for “Website of the Year,” which the independent expert jury voted on for the first time, was accepted by the TYPO3 specialists from the agency DFAU for the Fit Reisen website.
“We are very pleased to receive this award and are proud of the fact that our website was able to meet the high quality criteria of the jury and was judged to be user-friendly and creative,” said Dr. Nils Asmussen, Managing Director of Fit Reisen and the person responsible for the tourism company’s Internet presence. Together with around 400 guests, the finalists who had made it onto the shortlist in the nine categories eagerly awaited the jury's verdict. The awards were presented at a festive gala dinner, to which the Who-is-Who of the TYPO3 World had gathered at the Löwenbräukeller in Munich. The Bundesverband digitale Wirtschaft (BVDW) (Federal Association of the Digital Economy) is a cooperation partner of the 2016 TYPO3 Awards.  

The winners in the nine categories and three special disciplines

The International TYPO3 Awards were presented in the following categories:
  • eCommerce: Triplesence Reply <link https: startseite>VORWERK Kobold and E-Conomix GMBH <link https: de>biohort
  • Education: Studio Mitte Digital Media GmbH <link https:>University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria
  • NGO: Familie Redlich AG <link http:>Deutsches Rotes Kreuz
  • Enterprise/Industry: Marketing Factory Consulting GmbH <link https:>Kaldewei
  • Sports: brandung <link https: fc-info startseite>1. FC Köln
  • Tourism: DFAU <link https:>Fit Reisen
  • Finance: Pluswerk <link http:>Creditplus
  • Government: 3PC GMBH Neue Kommunikation <link http:>Stasi-Mediathek
In addition, the following special prizes were awarded:
  • Website of the Year: DFAU <link https:>Fit Reisen
  • Community Award for Small Websites: GmbH <link https: shop>nph Deutschland
  • Best TYPO3 Event: <link https:>TYPO3 Developer Days

Expert jury judged the quality of the ideas and the user experience

The independent, six-member panel of experts who selected the winners is made up of four proven industry specialists and two experts from the TYPO3 Community. The BVDW’s Vice President Thorben Fasching is also on the TYPO3 Award jury. All jury members are renowned experts in the fields of web design, web development, user experience, mobile and social media. As part of the evaluation process, they awarded points for the design, performance and user-friendliness on different devices, including mobile, and different web browsers. In doing so, they paid particular attention to the front-end, content and structure as well as the creativity and ideas behind the individual web projects.

Videos of the TYPO3 Conference are available on the <link https:>TYPO3 Youtube-Channel.

About the TYPO3 Association:

The TYPO3 Association has been promoting the development of free software projects that have arisen from the community regarding the original TYPO3 Content Management System for over ten years. It is a not-for-profit organization that provides software developments from third parties that it has funded to the public free of charge. The TYPO3 Association is an association according to Swiss Law that was founded by the members of the TYPO3 Community, including Kasper Skårhøj, in November 2004. It has its headquarters in Baar ZG (Switzerland). The TYPO3 Association is non-partisan and denominationally neutral. More information on its members, objectives and funding opportunities can be found on its website: Press contact
TYPO3 AssociationFink & Fuchs Public Relations AG
Olivier Dobberkau
TYPO3 Association
Sihlbruggstrasse 105
6340 Baar
Phone: +49 40 188889910
E-Mail: <link>

Kirsten Gnadl
Fink & Fuchs Public Relations AG
Paul-Heyse Straße 29
80336 Munich
Phone: +49 89 589787 34
Fax: +49 89 589787 50
E-Mail: <link>